CFA® Exam Structure for Full Time & Extended Courses - Kaplan Financial
Skip to main content


Go Search
Training and Quals > International Students > Professional Qualifications > CFA > Pages > Examstructureandcontents.aspx  

Kaplan Financial - Home > Training and Quals > International Students > Professional Qualifications > CFA > Exam structure and contents

CFA exam Structure and Contents

The exam consists of three levels, each of which must be passed before progressing to the next. There are no time limits for completing all three levels.

  • The Level I CFA exam is sat in both June and December of each year
  • The Level II and III exams are only available in June of each year
  • The CFA exam date is the first Saturday in the month

CFA - About the examination 1

Content of the CFA exam

  • All three levels consist of two three hour papers taken on same day
  • The CFA Institute recommends preparation time of at least 250 hours per level
  • The CFA Institute reserves the right to slightly vary the weights in each exam

CFA - About the examination 2

Back to the International CFA® page

CFA Institute does not endorse, promote, or warrant the accuracy or quality of the products or services offered by Kaplan Financial. CFA Institute, CFA® and Chartered Financial Analyst® are trademarks owned by CFA Institute.

Application Forms

Highly Trusted Sponsor
Contact Us
+44 (0) 20 7920 3060

CFA Course Updates

Sign up here and we'll send you updates, exam tips and offers about our CFA courses.


By providing your information, you are consenting to receive marketing information by email from Kaplan. Kaplan will never pass on your details to third party companies.

Exam structure and contents